2003 State Epsilon Sigma Phi Awards

Alpha Zeta Chapter

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service Award is designed to pay the highest chapter tribute to an experienced Extension professional who has consistently exhibited continuing leadership and excellence in Extension program planning, delivery and evaluation in programs of a career of 20 or more years. In their tenure, they must demonstrate measurable impact of their work in meeting clientele needs. Clearly this yearís recipients have done this and more.

Ms. Gayle Hall - Assoc. Prof. & Extension 4-H and Youth Development Specialist - State - Overton
Mr. Dan James - Professor & Extension 4-H and Youth Development Specialist - East Region - Dallas
Ms. Cathy Broun - Harris County Extension Agent - 4-H and Youth Development - Houston

State Mid-Career Award
The State Mid-Career Awards are designed to pay tribute to experienced Extension professionals with 10 to 20 years of service that have exhibited continuing leadership and excellence in Extension program planning, delivery, and evaluation. These recipients exemplify the professionalism and dedication that makes Extension such a valuable state and national resource.

Dr. Jeff Howard - Asst. Prof. & Extension 4-H and Youth Development Specialist - State - College Station
Ms. Cheryl Newberry - Extension 4-H Program Specialist - West Region - Uvalde
Mr. Tom Benton - Hutchinson County Extension Agent - Agriculture & Natural Resources - Stinnett

State Early Career Service Award
The State Early Career Awards are designed to recognize the achievements of rising professionals who have shown noteworthy enthusiasm, performance, and accomplishments during their early Extension career of less than 10 years in program design and delivery. Epsilon Sigma Phi honors the following Extension professionals for their accomplishments.

Mr. Kevin Chilek - Extension 4-H Program Specialist - South Region - Bryan
Dr. Stephen Green - Asst. Prof. & Extension Child Development Specialist - State - College Station
Ms. Jennifer Janssen - Extension Family Development & Resource Mgmt. Specialist - College Station

State Meritorious Support Service Award
This nationally authorized special state award is designed to recognize the many staff in our system, that, over time, have shown support for the mission, program and professional staff of Extension. This award goes to Extension support staff who demonstrate such outstanding support. This year, the award recipients are:

Ms. Cheryl K. Brock - Administrative Assistant - Dept. Of Agricultural Economics - Stephenville
Ms. Sue B. Ferguson - Administrative Assistant for 4-H and Youth Development Office - College Station
Mr. Dan Krienke - Ochiltree County Extension Farm Demonstration Assistant - Perryton
Ms. Pearlie Love - Waller County Program Aide - 4-H and Youth Development - Navasota
Ms. Joyce G. Walker - Galveston County Administrative Assistant - Galveston

25-Year Tenure Award
Tenure levels for Extension professionals have been recognized by Epsilon Sigma Phi chapters for many years. The 25-year milestone has been almost universally spotlighted, and is designed to recognize those Extension professionals who have made service their career and have demonstrated the professionalism and dedication we all hope to achieve. This yearís recipients who have reached that milestone are worthy of recognition.

Ms. Cathy Broun - Harris County Extension Agent - 4-H and Youth Development - Houston
Dr. Alma M. Fonseca - Brazos County Extension Agent - Family and Consumer Sciences - Bryan
Mr. Billy J. Gillum - Lee County Extension Agent - Agriculture & Natural Resources - Giddings
Dr. Nancy Granovsky - Professor and Extension Family Economics Specialist - State - College Station
Mr. Michael Heimer - Montgomery County Extension Agent - Agriculture & Natural Resources - Conroe
Mr. C. Jack Hunter (Ret.) - Brazos County Extension Agent - Agriculture and Natural Resources - Bryan
Ms. Linda L. Mock - Montgomery County Extension Agent - Family and Consumer Sciences - Conroe

State Visionary Leadership Recognition Award
This award recognizes Extension professionals whose significant accomplishments have resulted in leading Extension forward in new directions. This personís visionary leadership enabled Extension to anticipate a significant new opportunity and developed support to implement program organizational changes necessary to achieve success.

Dr. Dale Fritz - District 9 Extension Administrator - South Region - Bryan

Team Award
This state award recognizes outstanding efforts on the part of a team of Extension staff in responding to and in incorporating a specific educational program. Team efforts are especially important in demonstrating unique and complimentary skills and experience to provide valuable solutions to important needs.

4-H and Youth Military Program in Bell & Coryell Counties
Ms. Faith Ballard
- 4-H Regional Program Director - East Region - Stephenville
Ms. Donna Martin - Military Program Director - State - College Station
Ms. Julie Gardner - Coryell County Extension Agent - 4-H and Youth Development - Gatesville
Ms. Marilyn Prause - Bell County Extension Agent - 4-H and Youth Development - Belton

State Friend of Extension
The State Friend of Extension award is the highest chapter award presented by Epsilon Sigma Phi to a non-Extension person to recognize truly outstanding support and personal involvement in Extension efforts. Given the recipientsí levels of support and involvement, they most certainly are not "non-Extension," rather they are valuable partners of Extension who are to be considered more family than friends.

Mr. Ross Wilson has been one of Extensionís best friends for over a decade. Mr. Wilson has championed Extension programs at the local, state, and national levels. He has spent countless hours working with legislators to help them better understand the value of Extension educational programs in Texas, and helped forge new and valuable partnerships in Texas agriculture. Mr. Wilson currently serves as the Vice President of the Texas Cattle Feeders Association, is a former assistant to Congressman Jack Hightower, and former executive assistant of the Texas Wheat Producers Association.

The Honorable James D. Yarbrough has been a true "Friend of Extension." Judge Yarbrough has worked cooperatively with the Galveston County Extension Office to create new partnerships with many local and county organizations to enhance Extension educational programs. His interest enthusiasm is in ensuring relevant and quality programs for the residents of Galveston County and through unwavering support of the Galveston County Extension faculty. He continues to lead in generating support for all Extension programs including 4-H and youth, agriculture, natural resources, and family and consumer sciences. Mr. Yarbrough currently serves as the Galveston County Judge.

Back to Awards Page